The End of Camp Nano + Summer Plans

Hello, and welcome back! It’s April 30th, the last day of Camp Nanowrimo. In this blog post, I’m giving out an overall update of my project and telling you my summer plans for 2017!

Camp Nano

So, I hit my goal of 30 pages! That would only equal to about 30 minutes on screen, but it was a start. I loved my characters, and it was interesting to see the differences of writing out a script versus writing out prose. I love how I am in charge of everything in a novel, from how I can force somebody to pay attention to little actions to what somebody is wearing or how exactly they’re walking; I love how the main focus in a script is the dialogue, and how concise I can be with my descriptions and action lines. I can’t decide which one I like more, though!

My project is far from over, but I’m going to take a break from it until I finish my finals; as I’m homeschooled and the majority of my classes are online, I don’t know when that will be. My scheduled classes end in the last week of May, but two of my classes just have a deadline date that I have to adhere to (so that means I can take the finals for them earlier). But anyways, I’m going to focus on my schoolwork and exams until summer vacation begins.

Summer Plans

I was recently accepted into a Girls Who Code summer immersion program in Chicago, Illinois; it runs for seven weeks from June 26th to August 11th, which is basically the entire summer. It is a free program for girls who haven’t tried out computer science before, and it serves to introduce girls to the field, and I will be at the UIC – Ada Lovelace program. There’s about twenty girls per location, and I was also given a stipend of $1200 for traveling and housing expenses, which was the push (I think) for my parents to let me go. It takes about five or six hours to get there (I live in Michigan), and we are currently looking for a place to stay. Anyways, I am so excited for this opportunity to try out coding and computer science! I was originally going to volunteer and attend a government camp as well as summer dance intensives; the summer was going to be primarily focused on dance, but I reasoned that dance is for my last two years of high school and potentially college, whereas computer science may be my future career.

I’m going to miss my friends a lot, and truthfully, I’m worried that I’m going to be left behind and they’re going to bond and get closer without me while I’m away; I attach to people quickly (although I can detach myself just as quickly), and can stubbornly dig myself into a hole with them while ignoring anything new. So, hopefully, this experience will expand my horizons, introduce me to new friends, and push me out of my comfort zone. Oh, and also, this will be the longest I’ve been without my twin sister! Previously, we’ve gone one week without seeing each other; now, it’s going to be about seven weeks. I’m honestly scared and excited at the same time, but I’m staying positive. I’m also forcing myself to start vlogging this summer (I’ve wanted to for forever, but never got around to doing it) and keeping a Youtube channel for my future self and others to see!

Anyways, that’s about it for today. AP exams start tomorrow, so good luck to everybody taking one! I’ve only got one exam this year (AP Biology, next Monday), and I’m see-sawing between being confident and feeling anxious and idiotic. See you next time!

This Week’s Playlist

  1. Seeing Smoke by Caiti Patton
  2. A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got) by Fergie
  3. Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol. 1 
  4. Crave You by Flight Facilities
  5. easy A soundtrack

Reading

N/A

3 thoughts on “The End of Camp Nano + Summer Plans

  1. Congrats on reaching your Camp NaNo goal! And good luck and have fun at the camp over the summer. That’s a great opportunity. Also, don’t worry about your friends. You’ll make new ones at the camp and just be sure to keep in touch with your friends from home a few times a week and stay up to date with everything going on in their lives and vice versa. 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh my goodness thank you so much! It’s my first time being away from my sister for so long, and the initial excitement is giving way to anxiety because I’ll be all on my own in a new environment, but this comment really helped! I haven’t had actual really close friends at all before this year, so I really don’t want to leave them in case they drift away, but I’m confident that that’s not going to happen since they’re amazing people! I’m probably going to skype or FaceTime them and back home every week and keep up text messaging as well! But thanks so much for your comment, again, it really means a lot to me! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

