Camp Nanowrimo (April 2017)

Hello again! It’s March 26th, and there’s only about five more days until Camp Nanowrimo kicks off for the April session. In this blog post, I’m going to explain what exactly is Camp Nanowrimo and my plans for this next crazy month, as well as today’s happenings.

What is Camp Nanowrimo?

“Regular” Nanowrimo occurs in November (“Nanowrimo” stands for National Novel Writing Month), and during November, writers from all around the world attempt to write a 50,000 word draft of a novel in 30 short days. The motto of this event is “quantity over quality,” and it encourages writers to just write with their inner editors off; it develops a daily habit and has a wonderful community online! In Camp Nanowrimo, writers can set their own goals in pages, hours, minutes, words, or lines and they can talk with other writers in their own cabins or in the forums online. Camps are a bit more flexible than regular Nanowrimo, which many (including me) like. It’s never too late to start, so if this sounds interesting to you, hop on over to campnanowrimo.org to create an account or o to nanowrimo.org to browse the main site and check out the forums.

My Project

This camp, I’m going to be trying my hand at a script (as one of my New Year’s Resolutions is to write my very first script); it’s a coming-of-age story about two sisters who happen to be witches living in a magic-only society in modern California. Light-hearted and comedic, it’s not going to feature doomsday or dramatic, high stakes—well, at least not in the way we’re used to in the fantasy genre. Set in the summertime, this story’s going to have highs and lows (as any story does), but I hope to keep it a hilarious and fun script that’s full of heart; the fantasy aspect is going to allow me to get them into all sorts of trouble, which I am stoked for. This isn’t going to be a “kill your darlings” type of story, but it is going to be about real life and all sorts of relationships, and I can’t wait to get started! I’ve been using charahub.com for fleshing out my two main characters (named Kat and Elsie), and the rest of my characters and my outline live in my Google Docs folder. I belong to two Discord chats, one Slack chat, and a camp cabin, and everyone has been incredibly friendly and eager to get to know everyone else! The one thing I’m nervous about is script formatting, but I’ve got my notes from a previous screenwriting class I took and there’s a myriad of resources online, so I should be fine. My goal is a mere 30 pages, so I am fairly certain that I will be able to make it.

Today’s Happenings

Today, I went to church and typed up this blog post; I’m also going to my first college fair in a couple of hours, so I’ve been making up a battle plan. There’s expected to be around 3,000 people in attendance, which makes me a bit nervous, but it’ll be fine! I have no idea how these work, but at the very least, it’s bound to be a character building experience. The booths I have in mind are for the colleges Ball State University, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Purdue University, Washington University at St. Louis, Villanova University, University of Glasgow, Penn State, Rutgers University, and the University of Michigan. Other than that, I’ve got some outlining to do for my script and some more homework to complete. See you next time!

This Week’s Playlist

  1. The Addams Family (OBC)
  2. The Last Five Years (movie soundtrack)
  3. Catching Fire (The Score)
  4. Come So Far (Got So Far to Go) (Hairspray movie soundtrack)
  5. Be Okay (Oh Honey)

 

Reading

  1. The Cartoon Guide to Chemistry by Larry Gonick and Craig Criddle
  2. O Captain, My Captain! by Walt Whitman
  3. The Lake Isle of Innisfree by William Butler Yeats

 

Leave a Reply

